Jump to: navigation, search

DSDP/PMC/PMC Minutes 7Dec06

< DSDP‎ | PMC
Revision as of 18:34, 18 December 2006 by Doug.gaff.windriver.com (Talk | contribs)

(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)

Time

San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 6:00:00 AM UTC-8 hours PST
Austin (U.S.A. - Texas) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 8:00:00 AM UTC-6 hours CST
Boston (U.S.A. - Massachusetts) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 9:00:00 AM UTC-5 hours EST
Salzburg (Austria) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 3:00:00 PM UTC+1 hour CET
Helsinki (Finland) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 4:00:00 PM UTC+2 hours EET
Tokyo (Japan) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 11:00:00 PM UTC+9 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Thursday, December 14, 2006 at 14:00:00 UTC

World Clock

Dial-in Info

  • Skype: +99008275948062
  • US: 1-712-432-4000
  • UK: 0870 119 2350
  • France: 0826 100 266
  • Germany 01805 00 7620
  • Austria: 0820 400 01562
  • Enter Conference Room Number : 5948062

Attendees

  • Mika Hoikkala
  • Martin Oberhuber
  • Shigeki Moride
  • Christian Kurzke
  • Mark Rogalski
  • Doug Gaff

New Business

  • Plug-in fest / Jan council meetings
  • Jolt Awards
    • eRCP and TM - possible candidates?
    • Martin doesn't think TM has enough impact yet.
    • eRCP is still a possibility. Mark should comment.
  • EclipseCon 2007
    • Long talk voting
      • 3602 Service Oriented Device Architecture (SODA)
        • We like this talk and think it would be a good long talk assuming SODA has some open source components.
      • 3688 eRCP - Ready for prime time!
        • Good long talk. eRCP had only a short talk last year, and they are ready for more coverage in the conference.
      • 3722 Profiling Mobile and Embedded Java Applications in Eclipse IDE
        • Good long talk. This spans DSDP and TPTP and covers an area of interest to many people in the mobile and embedded space.
      • 3738 Tools for Mobile Linux Project: Extending Eclipse into Linux Mobile Devices
        • Good short talk. Will help introduce the project to the community. Not sure if TmL will have enough code ready by EclipseCon to justify the long talk.
      • 3755 C++ GUI Builder for Mobile or Embedded devices
        • Good long talk. NAB technology is mature and ready for a wider audience at EclipseCon.
      • 3770 Bringing embedded and enterprise development closer using Eclipse
        • Interesting long talk, but should be in the business track. Perhaps as part of a panel?
      • 3780 Creating an IP-XACT editor to support the use of IP-XACT for Embedded Debug
        • Good long talk. Touches another standards consortium and several areas of embedded.
      • 3781 Target Management: Embedded to Enterprise
        • Good long talk, but Martin is willing to do this in a short talk to make space for others.
      • 3795 Eclipse as foundation for J2ME development tools
        • Potential demo.
      • 3813 Enabling Seamless Mobility with Eclipse
        • Potential business track long talk or panel discussion. We don't think there's enough technical content.
      • 3814 Remote Management of Mobile Embedded Platforms
        • Good short talk. Not sure if there is enough take-away for open source developers.
  • Europa Train - Europa Wiki - no update
    • See previous PMC minutes
    • MTJ - definitive no after discussion on dev list
    • eRCP - eRCP is interested - will do the binary builds locally - Jimmy Su - UPDATE? Can Ted help?
    • Shigeki - NAB - need more internally discussions - UPDATE? Can Ted help?
  • Project status, project plans
    • DD
      • Potential SPIRIT committer and contribution
      • F2f in Toronto
    • eRCP (no update)
    • MTJ
      • Congats on 0.7 release.
      • Rauno committer vote?
    • NAB (no update)
    • TM
      • Congrats on 1.0 release.
    • TmL
      • Creation review scheduled - Dec 20.
  • Next Meeting: Jan 4 - can everyone make that day?

Old Business

  • Conferences
    • EclipseCon 2007 (placeholder)
      • 5-8 March 2007
      • To discuss further when call for papers opens. Track allocations are posted on the web.
    • ESC West (placeholder)
      • 1-5 April 2007 in San Jose
      • Sumitted Talks
        • "Using and Extending the Eclipse Target Management Tools" - Martin Oberhuber
        • "Embedded Debugging in Eclipse" - Pawel Piech
        • "Mobile Software Development in Eclipse" - Doug Gaff
        • Full descriptions
  • Project Status, Europa, Release & Creation Reviews
    • General stuff
      • Podcasts
        • eRCP, TM, MTJ - who has done theres?
      • DSDP Website - dynamic content
      • eclipse.dsdp Newsgroup - dynamic content
      • Blogs
        • Shigeki - worried about content writing in English. Doug suggests Shigeki do a blog in Japanese.
      • DSDP Info center
        • Instructions
        • eRCP, NAB, MTJ?
        • AI: NAB plans to put docs on info center
        • AI: eRCP - work on posting info center docs after 1.0 release