Jump to: navigation, search

DSDP/PMC/PMC Minutes 14Jun07

< DSDP‎ | PMC
Revision as of 16:39, 13 June 2007 by Doug.gaff.windriver.com (Talk | contribs) (New Business)

Time

San Francisco (U.S.A. - California) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 6:00:00 AM UTC-7 hours PDT
Austin (U.S.A. - Texas) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 8:00:00 AM UTC-5 hours CDT
Boston (U.S.A. - Massachusetts) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 9:00:00 AM UTC-4 hours EDT
Salzburg (Austria) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 3:00:00 PM UTC+2 hour CEST
Helsinki (Finland) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 4:00:00 PM UTC+3 hours EEST
Tokyo (Japan) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 10:00:00 PM UTC+9 hours
Corresponding UTC (GMT) Thursday, June 14, 2007 at 13:00:00 UTC

World Clock

Dial-in Info

  • US: 800-741-0846
  • International: 706-679-953
  • Passcode: 7817182169#

Invited Attendees

  • Mika Hoikkala
  • Martin Oberhuber (on vacation)
  • Shigeki Moride
  • Christian Kurzke
  • Mark Rogalski
  • Pawel Piech
  • Doug Gaff
  • As decided at our last PMC meeting at EclipseCon, projects leads are allowed to send designates.

New Business

  • Introductions - Pawel P
    • Summary of Pawel's plans for DD
  • MTJ project discussion
  • TmL project progress discussion
  • Another other project news (we did status a couple of weeks ago)
  • Eclipse Summit Europe
    • October 9-11, 2007
    • Submissions due June 29
    • Program Committee requests of DSDP
      • They want embedded and mobile content
      • They want the updates from the DSDP projects, just as we did last year, but now with more time / talk
      • They are looking for 'cool demos', either open or commercial based on our technology
      • They also want to conduct one or two 'embedded symposia' or 'working groups' again. They are struggling with themes for them and are looking for suggestions.

Old Business

  • General stuff
    • Mark going to OpenSource in Mobile in September in Madrid - will present eRCP, but also some information on DSDP. 25 minute talk. Also asked him to participate in a panel.
    • NAB: Feedback comes from WS community, which is why dev list is so quiet. All feedback is in Japanese. Bugzilla can't work because interface is in English, which is a problem. Doug to follow up with Bjorn and Denis
    • DSDP Website - dynamic content
    • eclipse.dsdp Newsgroup - dynamic content
    • DSDP Info center
      • Instructions
      • eRCP, NAB, MTJ?
      • AI: eRCP - work on posting info center docs after 1.0 release
    • My Foundation Portal (coming soon)
  • Discussion about PMC participation
    • Doug's goals for the PMC
      • Mentoring! Help each other on processes, community building, etc.
      • Discuss and work on community growth for each project
      • Align plans and get on the next Eclipse train
      • Coordinated press activity and conference activity
      • Generate more dynamic content for website, newsgroups, blogs
      • Common usage of the virtual server for documentation
    • Other's goals?
      • What do you want to get out of the PMC?
        • Martin: Doug should kick people to communicate, keep websites up-to-date, etc. Sometimes they need a kick, and he thinks its a good idea.
        • Mark, Shigeki: Agrees with this list.
        • Christian: Mentoring is especially important to him. Worried about burdening the group.
        • Doug: Everyone should subscribe to the dsdp-pmc mailing list. Anyone should feel comfortable asking questions, making comments, reporting on issues. We should also spend more time sharing our project challenges with the group so that others can learn. We should also help each other out with networking, e.g. when a project needs a technical contribution in a particular area, we should tell the PMC about it. Perhaps another company has a strategic interest in the technology and might be able to help out.
      • What are your time constraints?
        • The monthly meetings are fine.
        • Some folks have trouble keeping up with the website or getting material on the help server. This will hopefully change soon.
        • The PMC agreed that it's ok for the project lead to send a designated representative to ensure that each project has representation at the PMC meeting.
    • Keeping websites up to date
      • When Rauno's commit rights come through, MTJ will be able to update. Most other projects believe they are compliant.